Public holidays in South Korea each belong to one or more of three categories:

  • National day (Korean: 국경일; Hanja: 國慶日)
  • National flag raising day (Korean: 국기게양일; Hanja: 國旗揭揚日)
  • Public holiday (Korean: 공휴일; Hanja: 公休日)

Each category has a different legal basis. All national days are also flag raising days.

Here are some of the South Korean holidays:

  • Korean New Year's Day, or Seollal (설날), is celebrated on the first day of the Korean lunar calendar. 
  • Korean Independence Day or Samiljeol, falls on 1 March, and commemorates the 1 March Movement of 1919.
  • Memorial Day or Hyeonchung-il, is celebrated on 6 June, and its purpose is to honor the men and women who died in South Korea's independence movement.
  • Constitution Day or Jeheonjeol, is on 17 July, and it celebrates the promulgation of Constitution of the Republic of Korea.
  • Liberation Day or Gwangbokjeol, on 15 August, celebrates Korea's liberation from the Empire of Japan in 1945.
  • Every 15th day of the 8th lunar month, Koreans celebrate the Mid-autumn Festival also known as Chuseok, in which Koreans visit their ancestral hometowns and eat a variety of traditional Korean foods.
  • On 1st of October, Armed Forces day is celebrated, honoring the military forces of South Korea. 3 October is National Foundation Day.
  • Hangul Day, on 9 October commemorates the invention of hangul, the native alphabet of the Korean language.